Wednesday, August 5, 2009

LOVE AAJ KAL FOR MANGO PEOPLE!


Big no-no for people expecting great stuff from Imtiaz Ali. However, kill your expectations and it is actually an enjoyable movie.
Interesting style of narrative,the movie takes you back and forth in time, Delhi,London and Calcutta. Beautiful use of colours, sets and locations and peppy music keep you well entertained. The movie revolves around the story of a young "aaj kal ka" couple who think it is wise to be practical and logical and call it quits when it comes to maintaining a long distance relationship. Rishi Kapoor seen in an affable sardar ji's role plays cupid to the distressed,messed up, "have-always-been-in-love-feeling-all-out-of-love" couple. Deepika's performance is a far cry from the word called "acting". However, by the end of the movie, she manages to strike a chord and get a few notes right. Applause. Saifu looks a little lost without his lady love Bebo. I hate to admit it, but I wouldnt mind watching the "Jab We Met" girl in this role. The movie showcases history's worst kisses with romance getting flushed with each 3 second long lip lock. However, Imtiaz manges to pull off a classic Bollywood entertainer and for once you are thankful that the Hindi film industry still believes in the power of song and dance sequence. Though, Saifu's stiff body movements made him look like a person getting out of a wheelchair after a long time, wobbly on his feet.

This is not the end people. Watch out for the best part. My favourite VIR DAS. I dont have the slightest idea why a brilliant stand up comedian would sign up for such a sidey trashy role as a forgettable buddy of the hero. It was hard to watch and stiffle my laughter to watch the man hosting "News on the Loose" on CNBC trying to "twist" and dance. Good effort though. Applause again.

Anywho, another effort by the director to propagate the idea of "heart over mind". This seems to be his forte but we would love to see some kind of experiment Ali Jaan. However, not disastrous experiments like casting Deepika opposite Saif.

Watch :)

Saturday, January 31, 2009

Much ado about "something"-Slumdog Millionaire


Is it just another good movie? Would an Indian director get the same kind of appreciation? Glories and globes for depicting an inglorious India? Was the music that great?
It is a good movie. And an unusual love story.

Not many characters. Jamal-the slum dog in the hot seat.Salim- the power hungry elder brother who has nothing but money on his mind and Latika-Jamal's love. The Three Musketeers.
The movie answers not how Jamal wins the money but why he is in the hot seat. It takes us on a roller coaster ride and as an audience we are Jamal's well wisher hoping that he gets what he wants, get disheartened by his many failures, we sympathise when he has to face unfathomed misfortunes, are happy when his perseverance helps him strike gold, laugh when he exhibits unmatchable wit. A remarkable story on a passionate soul.
The movie shows us a side to Mumbai which we Indians would conveniently want to hide. The movie also talks of progress and of two parallel Indias existing together. Why do people bother to argue over facts. Lets not get corseted by the environment in which the characters are placed but lets appreciate the way the characters behave owing to that environment and what they have to do to survive.
For me it was love at every sight. Each frame, each dialogue,each smirk made me fall in love with Dev Patel(Jamal). Brilliant and powerful performances by all child artists. Altough Anil Kapoor's character was a little too...cynical. The background score pepped up every sequence. It was a perfect marriage between the music and the visuals. The cinematography and transitions are unique and innovative.


You'll get the answers to the above mentioned questions when you watch. So now there is only one thing left to do...

Friday, January 16, 2009

SHIT HAPPENS


I am about to be a graduate. Conditions apply.
I wanted all my well wishers to be well informed that I am about to jump into a well that may well...turn out to have shitty surprises in store for me.
But that's not the point...
The point is that I had this overwhelming urge to thank all the people that stood by me and made my life interesting, accentuating my weird personality by accessorising it with fun,laughter,unforgettable experiences and helping me decorate my mental scrapbook. No, I am not about to die. Although the plunge into that well might kill me. I merely wanted to share a few things saved in the hard disk encapsulated in my skull.
So if you are interested you might want to read the rest of it, if not...well, its a free world.

Firstly my friends, let me tell you...these three years have successfully taught me that well, shit happens. Now it depends on the kind of person you are how often you come across the shit happens condition. There are different categories of people.
(a) If you were born at a time when the stars werent well aligned you are doomed to be perpetually caught in the shit happens condition.
(b) I belong to category (a) so I cant speak for people belonging to any other category.
End of chapter one.


chapter 2: What is the shit happens condition?
To be very simply described, shit happens when you lose control over the essential sphincters of your life and everything seems crappy.
End of chapter two.

chapter 3: Forgive and do not forget
Well, you obviously do not want to be referred to as a person who is forgetful. If you forget everything after forgiving someone you are highly susceptible of making the same blunders. Be careful or else...shit will keep happening. Now that certainly stinks.

chapter 4: Its good to be a little bad.
Else you are well...boring.

chapter 5: Dont forget to wipe :)
No matter how meticulously planned you are...sooner or later, shit does happen. But its not that big a deal. Just wipe and move on man. Its actually quite a relief when shit happens. Things get better and you learn how to be happy inspite of all the shit thats waiting to well...happen.

I have learnt a lot. I have cribbed, whined and have been deeply dissatisfied by so many things that I have come across in these 3 years...have abused God when I thought she was being really unfair and labelling me as category (a) but really all this shit made me a much stronger person. You will do stuff for others, you will be paid back in shit..but keep doing stuff, embrace all the shit and I can place a safe bet...you'll learn how to survive in shit.
Well, I am not scared of taking that plunge anymore.
Thanks for reading the shitty stuff. I really love you all.
Cheers:)